Look out for the flying biscuits!

Returned, and there were slight amounts of rejoicing. (yay!) (…over ice cream) Of course, from my posting habits, it would be a little hard to tell that I was ever gone.

I spend slightly more amounts of time on facebook however, and there I was missed, if only by one person. I threw a sucker at her to console her after the ordeal.

Mercifully, my attempts at making hardtack last week were glossed over by the trip. It wasn’t that it wasn’t real hardtack; on the contrary, I got an actual recipe from a circa WWI online cook book. The problem was that, my siblings , by their definition of the word, wanted good hardtack which, in my opinion, happens to be a contradiction of the word. For clarity, it is not a “cracker” but a hunk of hard biscuit whose formula I could probably beat when I was seven and playing around in the flour.

However, we will suppose that they actually did want good hardtack and not what my exact brain assigned to the word. If we assume that, I will readily admit I’m not up to the task, being that the experiment was the first baked good I’d made in months, I’m not used to wheat dough anymore, I wouldn’t be able to taste/feel the texture of the dough in my mouth, and all sorts of other lame excuses (etc.) BUT, after annoying my sister endlessly with my definition and refusal, I promise that for her next birthday, I’ll make it by her definition, if possible. (“Happy Birthday Christina : ) Guess what I got you…”)

Unfortunately, as Christina herself says, “hardened biscuits make good projectiles if kept long enough…”

In other news, Philmont is a go. Woot! I hear rumors of them only recently (ten years ago is, in my opinion) ceasing to make people drink their dish water. This tiding holds slight foreboding. However, the mere mention of the name brings images of military-fit people to the mind of the seasoned scouter and would be something really neat to tell about;….if I survive…..

4 thoughts on “Look out for the flying biscuits!

  1. Wow. Joanna must have been emotionally scarred by her hardtack experience to remember it long enough to post about it. Poor Joanna. Also, though, poor us. *real* hardtack was never meant for human consumption under normal circumstances. They took it on jungle treks into the amazon and the prairies of North Dakota but whoever heard of someone eating it when he could’ve just as well made crackers?

Leave a Reply

